I believe there is something to the adage that each generation has to rediscover the essential truths. It is vitally important to review the historical record and assess what we should learn from it… Truths have stood the test of time, but only as lived honestly by each succeeding generation. Without faithful continuity of belief and practice, its message is adulterated and eventually lost.
— David Hulme, Editor, Vision Magazine

Brahma Kumaris History

The history is divided into five separate time periods. The Foundation Years covering 1932 through 1950, The Transition Years covering 1950 through 1959, The Consolidation Years from 1960 through 1969, and The Expansion Years beginning in 1970 and continuing through to 2007. The time period from 2008 until today is called The Shift. Each page contains photographs from that time period. Most are published with thanks to the Photography Department of Pandav Bhawan. All original documents can be found here, for your own research and interest. 

The Foundation Years (1932 - 1949)

Lekhraj Koobchand Kripalani was born on the 15th December 1884 to the son of a schoolmaster in Hyderabad Sindh. A series of visions and mystical experiences changes his life and the life of many others.

The Consolidation Years (1960 - 1969)

The community matures, develops systems and customs to suit their move to India as they re-integrate into a primarily Hindu post-Partition Indian society. Knowledge is clarified and consolidated. Mama, a guide and support for the women, girls, men and children passes away. 

The Transition Years (1950 - 1959)

Their spiritual understanding deepens and goes through some significant changes, as they relocate from the recently created Pakistan to their new home of Rajasthan, India.

The Expansion Years (1970 - 2007)

Upon his passing, Brahma Baba passes away and entrusts the leadership of the Brahma Kumaris in the hands of two of the original sisters, who have now become mature, deeply spiritual and ready to bring their understand to the world.

The Shift (2008 - Today)

The current period is characterised by tradition moving into modernity, externally imposed authority to internally structured discipline, one ideal practice into many ways of living. There is rapid expansion in the East, and a re-shaping of lives in the West.

Read more about The Shift in our blog.